Turkish Embassy in Ljubljana

Info Notes

Political Structure of Slovenia, 27.12.2016

Official name : Republic of Slovenia 

Administrative status : Parliamentary democracy

Capital : Ljubljana

Official language : Slovenian

Currency : Euro (as of 1 January 2007)

President : Borut Pahor

Prime Minister : Miro Cerar

President of National Assembly : Milan Brglez

President of National Council : Mitja Bervar

In Slovenia, President is elected by the popular vote for five years and she\he can be re-elected. The last Presidential elections were held on 2 December 2012 and Borut Pahor was elected as the President replacing Danilo Türk. The next Presidential elections will be held in 2017.

 In Slovenia there is a bicameral system where National Assembly consists of 90 deputies and National Council has 40 members. National Assembly has the power to appoint Prime Minister and to forma the executive power. President proposes Prime Minister and Prime Minister proposes the Ministers to the National Assembly. Parliamentary elections are held in every four years.

 Following the resignation of the Government headed by Prime Minister Bratusek on 5 May 2014, the early elections were held on 13 July 2014. The result of the election is below;

 Modern Centre Party (SMC) % 34,49 - 36 deputies

Slovenia Democratic Party (SDS) % 20,71 - 21 deputies

Pensioners Party (DeSUS) % 10,18 - 10 deputies

Social Democrats Party (SD) % 5,98 - 6 deputies

United Left (ZL) % 5,97 - 6 deputies 

New Slovenia Party (NSi) % 5,59 - 5 deputies 

Alliance of Alenka Bratusek (ZaAB) % 4,38 - 4 deputies

Hungarian and Italian minorities elect their deputies within their constituencies - 2 deputies

The new Government is a three party coalition government composed of SMC, DeSUS and SD parties. Prime Minister Cerar and his government is in power since 18 September 2014.

 Dr. Milan Brglez is the President of the National Assembly.

 The second house of the Parliament, namely National Council represents various interest groups such as workers, employers, farmers, etc. and consists of 40 members. National Council has the power to return the resolutions back to the National Assembly for re-evaluation. National Council elections are held in every five years and the last election were held on 21 and 22 November 2012.

 In Slovenia there is a local administration system. There is no Governor appointed by the Central Government. All local services were provided by the Mayors. There are 211 municipalities in Slovenia. 11 of them are metropolitan city municipalities. The last local elections were held on 5 October and 19 October 2014.